The Story of a Bad Boy

The Story of a Bad Boy Thomas Bailey Aldrich The Story of A Bad Boy Boston Houghton Mifflin Octavo pages

  • Title: The Story of a Bad Boy
  • Author: Thomas Bailey Aldrich
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 163
  • Format: Publisher's Binding
  • Thomas Bailey Aldrich The Story of A Bad Boy Boston Houghton Mifflin, 1914 Octavo 278 pages.

    One thought on “The Story of a Bad Boy”

    1. The most delightful book I have read in a long, long time! 150 years after it was conceived and written, I couldn't help laughing out loud and reading passages to anyone within earshot from just about every paragraphjust ask those who were within earshot while I was reading.This is an old, forgotten classic which was very difficult to locate through local bookstores and libraries. Researchers think of Tom Bailey as a predecessor of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn, and I believe "The Story of a Bad Boy" [...]

    2. A forgotten classic. Kind of a yankee precursor to Tom Sawyer (though not the masterpiece that Sawyer is). Written by a man Mark Twain ruefully asserted was the wittiest alive, this account of a New England boyhood could not be more delightful--at least to this particular New England boy.

    3. Delivers more than it promisedAn innocent tale cleanly told, I enjoyed the window into a world long lost but linked to the present through the adventures of a teenager

    4. Hilarious and touching This is an excellent book for children and adults should also enjoy. Some of the stories related by the author about his childhood are ao funny I found myself laughing out loud. The description of childhood during the period in the northeast before the civil war are fascinating. Children then had so much more latitude!

    5. It took me a little while to get into this book, which is written in a style I haven't had to read in a while - the New England child's story of the 1860's/70's doesn't come up a lot in my bedside book pile. There is a faint sense of Twain, and of lost moralistic books as well, in these stories of a boy transplanted to the home of his New England grandfather, going to school and getting in trouble.There are a few shocks in the book as well - horrible racism towards Black people as well as Irish [...]

    6. I took a trip up to Portsmouth, NH and visited Strawberry Banke which is a historically preserved site in the vein of Williamsburg, VA and Sturbridge, MA. One of the past occupants of a house wrote a book about his childhood which interested me. This was it.In it the book characterizes what it was like to grow up in a waspy New England town during the mid 1800's. He covers his initial migration from New Orleans, leaving behind his parents, to live with his Grandfather (last name Nutter, and yes, [...]

    7. "This is the story of a bad boy. Well, not such a very bad, but a pretty bad boy; and I ought to know, for I am, or rather I was, that boy myself.Lest the title should mislead the reader, I hasten to assure him here that I have no dark confessions to make. I call my story the story of a bad boy, partly to distinguish myself from those faultless young gentlemen who generally figure in narratives of this kind, and partly because I really was not a cherub. I may truthfully say I was an amiable, imp [...]

    8. A thoroughly enjoyable read. Highly recommend to young readers, but they may be unfamiliar with some of the reading vocabulary (which, in general, seems to be at a much lower standard today than was expected of a young reader at the time it was written). If they (young readers) take the time to do some research and learn the vocabulary, this book could be an excellent (and fun) learning experience. I am 50 years old, and I WISH someone had given it to me to read when I was a kid! As is was, I re [...]

    9. A bit like a less-sophisticated, New England version of Tom Sawyer, this autobiographical novel has been out of print for too long. It concerns a mischievous boy who is sent to live with his grandfather in a quirky sea-side town, where he proceeds to get into a number of misadventures with friends and cohorts. There are some splendid supporting characters: Sailor Ben and his nautically-flavored cottage, the spinster Miss Abigail and her addiction to "hot drops", and the main character's nemesis, [...]

    10. A faithful reconstruction of the author's boyhood in Portsmouth, NH, (Rivermouth) from 1849 to 1852. Times were tough, with families separated by vocational necessity, and sometimes tragic as well. I appreciated the cultural differences, where a grammar school student could be studying Latin in school while carrying a pistol and playing pranks with gunpowder. Very interesting.Visit the reconstructed village before or after reading.

    11. This book was assigned in grade school, probably 4th or 5th grade, and for some odd reason I fell in love with it and I've been reading it periodically ever since. I get something different every time I read it; I appreciate some new joke, or catch a reference I wouldn't have before. (This time: Guy Fawkes.) It has not real plot, it's just the story of a boy (really?) and the boy things that he does. And for no discernible reason, possibly because it is so simple, it makes me very happy,

    12. This book is hilarious.I read it when I was about 11 or 12 during Junior High; it was part of my homeschool curriculum.It tells the story of the author's boyhood after moving north to live with his aged veteran of an uncle.Scrapes and Hijinks abound. Somehow he and his friends almost always manage to come out on top of things, with a few exceptions. Even when they get caught, it never dampens their ardor for adventure.Read it! You'll love itZ

    13. One of those books that arrived at the house who knows how or when. Of course I read it and I liked it. It was old fashioned but very charming and I loved the snow ball fight. Still have the book. Never knew that Thomas Bailey Aldrich's house was part of Strawberry Banke in Portsmouth, NH. I am going to get to visit this summer and am very excited!

    14. An autobiography of a man's childhood that in our modern eyes has a strong element of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn in it except it's true. Every intelligent teenager should read this to understand something about his/her country and where it came from. I look forward to sometime giving it to my granddaughter.

    15. Charming story of a boy sent to live with his grandfather in New England while his parents struggle with their business in New Orleans. Told from his viewpoint, the story follows his life as he makes friends and has typical boyhood adventures. It was written in the mid-1800s and is considered the first of a genre that later yielded Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn.

    16. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing of Thomas Bailey Aldrich's life and shenanigans as a young boy growing up in "Rivermouth" on the banks of the Piscataqua River. This semi-autobiographic novel was set in the mid-1800s and referenced many Portsmouth area locales.

    17. This is such a fun read. Light, interesting, and humorous account of a fun mischievous boy. My favorite line by far is "There's a special Providence that watches over idiots, drunken men, and boys" (ch 17). Haha! That is so true and sums up many boy-ish escapades.

    18. I think this book is so boring. I think the writing is great but the plot line is terrible! It's like a jumble of odd stories of this little boy. One or two of them I actually enjoyed but really I'm just forcing myself to finish it.

    19. Engaging, lively story marred by, as others have mentioned, extensive racism in the first chapter or two. If you can get past that, the rest of the book doesn't touch on race much.

    20. This classic story written by a local Portsmouth author (about 100 years ago), did not hold my interest at all.

    21. A light read, funny and enjoyable. I read it because it is on John Senior's list of 1000 good books. I read the free Kindle version, which unfortunately has many typos and omits the illustrations.

    22. My huband's favorite childhood book I was forced to read it after I made him read Twilight. I (as was he with Twilight) was pleasantly surprised!!! Great book! I could read it again!

    23. What a great story of your everyday boy, living as most boys should. I loved this reminder that boys will be boys, and it's a beautiful retelling of this author's childhood. Highly recommended!

    24. The autobiography that inspired Mark Twain's Tom Sawyer. But the real story is better. It's got adventure and excellent humor.

    25. This is just funny. But an older kind of funny. My mom read it to me the first time and I just laughed constantly.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *