Hellboy, Vol. 11: The Bride of Hell and Others

Hellboy Vol The Bride of Hell and Others The world s greatest paranormal investigator takes on a carnivorous house space aliens a vampire luchador a vengeful lion demon and in this collection featuring the work of comic greats Mike Migno

  • Title: Hellboy, Vol. 11: The Bride of Hell and Others
  • Author: Mike Mignola Richard Corben Scott Hampton Kevin Nowlan
  • ISBN: 9781595827401
  • Page: 198
  • Format: Paperback
  • The world s greatest paranormal investigator takes on a carnivorous house, space aliens, a vampire luchador, a vengeful lion demon, and in this collection featuring the work of comic greats Mike Mignola, Richard Corben, Kevin Nowlan, and Scott Hampton

    One thought on “Hellboy, Vol. 11: The Bride of Hell and Others”

    1. The Birde of Hell and Others is a stand-alone collection of Hellboy short stories, and it’s a really good one! Most stories are really spooky, especially the ones illustrated by the brilliant Richard Corben. Still, there is enough humor and lighthearted silliness, like in the “Buster Oakley Gets His Wish”, a story about an alien abduction, of all things. Overall, it’s a great little collection, and especially fitting for the Halloween season. Its only downside is that, like volume 10, it [...]

    2. Another good collection of stories, four stars because I'm almost never satisfied with anthologies and because Mexican wrestlers creep me out. I don't know why, they just do. Probably my favorite here is "The Sleeping and the Dead," which is a fantastic vampire story with some interesting twists. I also like "The Bride of Hell" for its ending--not at all what I think the history of such stories leads us to expect. This was a welcome break from the main Hellboy story, which has become extremely i [...]

    3. I've been waiting for this one, and I'm well rewarded, because it is massive. Literally six full-length issues and an eight-page short. Sadly, only the aforementioned short is drawn by Mignola, but with the news that he's going to be returning to regular art duties soon, I suppose we can persevere.Of the six stories contained herein, three are drawn by Richard Corben, one (as mentioned) by Mignola, one by Kevin Nowlan, and one (that's two issues long) by Scott Hampton. All are written by Mignola [...]

    4. Volume 11 of the Hellboy series is another compilation of one shots just like “Volume 10: The Crooked Man” and “the Amazing Screw-on Head”, so we don’t get a continuation of the “Wild Hunt” storyline from Volume 9 – that said, this is still an excellent compilation of Hellboy stories! Included here is a story of Hellboy fighting vampires in Mexico with Lucha Libre wrestler sidekicks, a “double feature of evil” where Hellboy fights an evil house that eats people and in the sec [...]

    5. A delightful mixture of the morbid and the absurd, this time containing a large number (seriously, one of the longer Hellboy volumes in recent memory!) of 1-shot stories from Hellboy's past, ranging from the early-to-mid 1950s down to the mid-to-late 1980s. Of particular interest are the encounters with: a family of demon-hunting Mexican wrestlers; the Knights of St. Hagan & a lonely demon in France; an incautious demonologist; and cattle mutilations in Kansas -- though one otherwise uninter [...]

    6. REVIEW ALSO ON: dailyblam/news/2011/10In this volume detailing the adventures of Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defense (BPRD) agent, Hellboy, big red goes on the hunt for cursed houses, crazed Egyptian pharaohs, devious vampires, and probing aliens. This collection of one shots and mini-series tackles every paranormal beastie a demon could hope for.This volume opens with a hilarious tale of Hellboy and five lost months spent drinking Tequila, wrestling, and hanging out with luchadores in Me [...]

    7. This is the most mixed bag, for me, out of all of the Hellboy short story compilations. Some of the stories, such as "Hellboy in Mexico", "The Sleeping and the Dead", and "The Whittier Legacy", are enjoyable entries into Hellboy's personal history roaming the world and ridding various places of evil supernatural threats. I even like "Double Feature of Evil", which is exactly what it sounds like, a double story entry with art by Richard Corben (who also did the Mexico story), featuring some very [...]

    8. One more, I'm having trouble getting into Corben's art. Some of it is great, and I love the EC vibe, but it's making me nostalgic in the wrong way: instead of thinking 'this is a great homage to the EC classics' I start feeling like I should just put Hellboy down and read the real thing. Some of Corben's character and backgrounds are great: expressive, detailed, idiomatic. But there are also a lot of little details that throw me off. Some of the exaggeration on the characters lacks a sense of sh [...]

    9. ARC provided by netGalley“Hellboy Volume 11: The Bride of Hell and Others” is a collection of short one off comics that give the Hellboy cannon more depth and introduce us to someting aspects of Hellboy’s past. For example we discover that Hellboy spent some time in Mexico, in “Hellboy in Mexico.” We also get a double feature (just like the classic horror movies) when a man calls the BRPD and says he’s been killing people, but he’s convinced its the house making him (which frankly [...]

    10. Hellboy has always had a pulpy dimension—you only need to look at Lobster Johnson or Herman von Klempt to detect Mignola's affinity for retro-inspired camp. Usually, however, this fails to detract from the sense of mythos and horror that makes the series so engaging. That is, until now. Sadly, The Bride of Hell and Others finds Mignola breaching the line between campiness and kitsch. Whether it's Hellboy duking it out with a demonic lucha libre wrestler, or defending himself against an extrate [...]

    11. I do like how Hellboy has moved away from simple fight stories into all sorts of folklore. There are some punch ups, but overall things don't simply get solved with fist fights any more. While this as a collection of short stories rather than one long continuous tale I really enjoyed it. There was Hellboy and Mexican wrestlers in what was quite a sad tale, there were vampire children and worse, everything had a wonderful reinvention of folklore tale, down to the very modern idea of cattle mutila [...]

    12. Sometimes I like the Hellboy collections that are short stories instead of the ones that into the larger story arc. The shorts let writer/creator Mike Mignola team up with different artists and explore other fables and horror mythologies. Mignola also gets to jump around to different time periods in Hellboy's career. We see Hellboy join Mexican masked wrestlers to battle monsters and vampires in 1950s Mexico. Another tale dips into horror and alien abductions, and Mgnola manages a very sympathet [...]

    13. Nice set of one-shot stories again, I didn't enjoy it as much as I enjoyed Hellboy: The Crooked Man and Others. I'm definitely a short-story fan, but Hellboy seems to have more one-offs than any other comic book series that I follow. I'm not even sure that I can remember what was going on the last time there was a main story-arc volume.

    14. Picked this up while helping our kids look for books at a local library and was immediately drawn in. Good mix of darkness and camp although some of the humor felt clunky. I had heard about the Hellboy franchise so was curious; also knew that Mignola was influenced by Lovecraft. Will definitely read others. Probably would help to read in chronological order but such is library reading.

    15. These short stories are a lot of fun, but I'll be happy to get back to the main storyline last seen a few volumes ago. I might be annoyed, if the stories weren't so good. They're pulpy, in a good way, and very fun to read. I wasn't particularly taken by the last story, but I loved everything else in this collection.

    16. Another mixed novel that served the core storyline, I really enjoyed the storylines here and was amazed by the depth. I'm not eager to end the series so I'm kicking of with a few of the spinoffs while finishing Fables too. This is up in my favorites Y the last man is there and Watchmen of course. This lays some of the ground work for an epic conclusion.

    17. Hellboy is always a delight and this collection was no exception. Book is colection of short stories written by Mike Mignola drawn by different artists. Even with multiple styles of working the mood of Hellboy is captured rather nicely in each of the stories. Guaranteed entertainment for fans of MM and HB.

    18. I was expecting a little bit more in the way of plot advancement for this one, but it was another collection of random shorts. Not to say that these were not fabulous random pieces, because they were all awesome. It was especially nice to see a segment that Mignola drew, because I've missed his art. I also really liked Scott Hampton's art for "The Sleeping and the Dead". Really lovely work.

    19. I always love the Hellboy short story collections, and this one's no exception. I especially loved the titular story, The Bride of Hell, along with the luchador story and the Double Feature of Evil (mummies!!!!!). Good stuff.

    20. Every story here is top-notch, with fun twists, great artwork, and a perfect mix of humor, scares, and interesting morality plays. The level of consistency and quality control that Mignola has established in this series and its spin-offs is completely staggering to me.

    21. As good as the rest of them, more or less. A little less, owing to it being a short story collection, which is difficult when graphic novel stories are already short by nature.

    22. So far, this is my least favorite of The Hellboy books. It starts off well enough with one of the Hellboy in Mexico stories, but it's all downhill from there, so you should probably just buy the Hellboy In Mexico trade and skip this one entirely.Once again the book is a collection of stories, six of them this time, with no narrative connection other than Hellboy is in them.What makes this stand out to me as The Worst Hellboy collection is the final story, Buster Oakley Gets His Wish, which tries [...]

    23. I started the Hellboy saga from last volume, but this comics collection tastes great for my eyes as my mind never the same. I love the characters, thrill, humor and art in it. Narrator Mike Mignola makes fine look into creative process on one page before each story. I am looking forward to next volumes, they are on the way to my bookshelf right now.T. T.

    24. Again, I did not enjoy Richard Corben's illustration for the stories he did in this collection, and since those are such a large portion of the volume I hesitate to recommend purchasing it. It's worth reading, because the other stories aren't bad at all, but as it stands this is the only collected volume of Hellboy I wouldn't feel bad about not owning.

    25. Another collection of shorts. I tend to love these more. I know there has to be a bigger arc but these ones make me happy. There is a vampire story here that is a lot of fun and the last one, Buster Oakley Gets his Wish is seriously funny.

    26. Los primeros relatos de este libro son realmente perfectos, y aunque los siguientes no mantienen la calidad sí son los suficientemente entretenidos como para que en promedio el libro sea una rareza de las buenas.

    27. No matter how good some stories in these shorts collection are, the amount of fluff in between makes them kind of a slog to get through

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *