Into the Shadows

Into the Shadows When Rodney Hill wrongly arrested for a series of murders hangs himself Jill Kennedy the forensic psychologist whose profile led to Hill s arrest gives up her work with the police and moves to th

  • Title: Into the Shadows
  • Author: Shirley Wells
  • ISBN: 9780786719631
  • Page: 353
  • Format: Hardcover
  • When Rodney Hill, wrongly arrested for a series of murders, hangs himself, Jill Kennedy, the forensic psychologist whose profile led to Hill s arrest, gives up her work with the police and moves to the peaceful village of Kelton Bridge to write self help books, enjoy a quiet life with her cats and perhaps an occasional flutter on the horses.Then the likeable but unremarkabWhen Rodney Hill, wrongly arrested for a series of murders, hangs himself, Jill Kennedy, the forensic psychologist whose profile led to Hill s arrest, gives up her work with the police and moves to the peaceful village of Kelton Bridge to write self help books, enjoy a quiet life with her cats and perhaps an occasional flutter on the horses.Then the likeable but unremarkable vicar s wife, Alice Trueman, is brutally murdered, and Jill discovers that Kelton Bridge is far from the quiet refuge she had anticipated According to DCI Max Trentham, Jill s ex colleague and ex lover, the case if pretty cut and dried Alice s son was found standing over her body with the murder weapon in his hand But he won t talk.And that s not all Someone is intent on reminding Jill that she made a mistake in the Rodney Hill case Is it a malicious joke, or is there a deadly agenda It begins to look as if real killer the man who should have stood in Rodney Hill s shoes, the man still terrorizing the Lancashire Pennines is stalking her And that is a truly terrifying thought.

    One thought on “Into the Shadows”

    1. This is the first in a new British series (to me, anyway) with Jill Kennedy, a forensic psychologist, at the center along with a detective, Max Trentham. The book is mainly set in the small village in which they both live, and there are two murders to solve: a serial killer nick-named "Valentine," and the deaths of the town vicar and his wife. Jill and Max have a history together, and as the book progresses, they dance around each other with their relationship becoming clearer. There are clues t [...]

    2. There is nothing quite like the pleasure of discovering a new series that really grips you from the beginning."Into the shadows" did not dwell on the gory side of the forensic details, so it should appeal to those who normally shy awayfrom forensic novels for that reason. Jill Kennedy has 'retired' from her job as a police forensic criminal profiler. She hasbought a cottage in the country where she intends to write of her past experiences. Of course, her job follows her when the serial killer wh [...]

    3. Forensic psychologist, Jill Kennedy, has trouble forgiving herself when her wrong profile diagnosis of a serial killer leads to the wrongful arrest of Rodney Hill. She gives up her work and moves to the rural peace of Kelton Bridge.But it seems that murder follows her wherever she goes, for just as she is settling into the community, the vicar's wife, Alice Trueman, meets a brutal end.Jill's cheating ex-partner, DCI Max Trentham, leads the murder hunt, and despite her reluctance, Jill finds hers [...]

    4. Forensic psychologist Jill Kennedy has recently moved to the village of Kelton Bridge, having quit police work after a case went wrong. A man arrested as a serial killer based on Jill's profile committed suicide in jail. He was not guilty and after another woman turns up murdered, everyone knows that the killer,"Valentine", is still at large. Valentine is a particularly vicious killer who carves hearts into his victim's flesh. The pressure of what Jill perceives as her failure and the infidelity [...]

    5. A very enjoyable first in series featuring a forensic psychologist, Jill Kennedy and DCI Max Trentham as they try to track down a serial killer called Valentine. They've already gotten it wrong once--a year ago, the wrong man was arrested and convicted and subsequently killed himself, and Valentine has struck againd he's leaving little "gifts" for Jill at her new cottage in a nearby village. Jill has given up her job with the police to concentrate on writing--and her relationship with Max also d [...]

    6. This first book in the series featuring forensic psychologist Jill Kennedy and DCI Max Trentham is set in the small English village of Kelton Bridge I enjoyed the characters and the village :)A serial killer is on the loose - called Valentine. He cuts hearts out of his victim's bodies. The main Characters, Jill and Max, thought they had caught him, but they had the wrong man. Jill retires from profiling, and moves to a small village to write books, and Max continues in the police force - but on [...]

    7. This is a well written book with pleasant characters so 4 stars. The plot, the hunt for a serial killer of prostitutes, offers nothing new and the subplot, the murder of the vicar's wife, is rather ludicrous. This is a cozy mystery in that there is no blood and guts and very little reference to actual police procedure. I guessed who the murderer was early on because so little was said about him. It is a pleasant way to pass a few mindless hours.

    8. English village mysteries are one of the categories that remind me that even though I love the dark and noir side of crime fiction, a little lighter fare every now and again is good for the psyche. Or at least a welcome change in approach. I'm always on the lookout for a new "series" of these style of books to accumulate for when I'm looking for something lighter as I'm running a little short of favourites to turn toO THE SHADOWS is a more modern take on the traditional English village style of [...]

    9. Review based on the audio book read by Shirley Dixon. Although this wasn't anything special, I kind of liked the way it flowed. It was very stereotypical in the characterisation with all the male characters depicted as potential suspects, even though the 'real' Valentine was obvious from the first chapter in my opinion. It's been a while since I read a detective-thriller from a female author, and the differences between her male peers were very obvious. I felt that some of the characters were no [...]

    10. This was a good story though all of a sudden near the end it all seemed to get a bit rushed, I thought. I liked both Jill and Max as characters and there are plenty of other characters in the village the author could keep in her series.Annoyingly, keeps referring to the subtitles on these books as Max Tentham instead of Trentham. Not great if they can't even get the titles displayed correctly.Another aggravation for me was the Americanised spellings in a book set in the UK. I hate it when that [...]

    11. A very good debut introducing forensic psychologist Jill Kennedy and DCI Max Trentham.Jill Kennedy has given up police work and moved to Kelton Bridge to write self-help books. The reason for this is because of a profile she wrote about a serial killer named Valentine the wrong man was arrested and he later committed suicide.Soon after settling in the town's vicar wife is murdered and Jill is reluctently brought back to help find the killer by her ex-lover and colleague DCI Max Trentham. At firs [...]

    12. This book is extremely well written and held me involved throughout, which says a lot for the author because I'm less a fan of police procedurals than amateur sleuths. But I liked the chilling edge and she kept me guessing right to the end. A collection of fascinating characters very well-drawn and I warmed to Jill and Max as the story progressed. Loved the cats!

    13. Excellent start to (so far) a three-book series. I do wish the main characters could resolve their petty differences, but I guess this is going to be like Pam and Jim on "The Office" - the suspense is going to keep on for a bit. Not critical to read these books in any order, but it does help with the backstory. Another fine British mystery writer!

    14. I'm always looking for new British Police Procedural series. This was an easy read and kept my attention. Protagonists in jeopardy are not a favorite theme of mine so hopefully this is a once and done occurrence. Looking forward to reading the next installment.

    15. This was a good read but I didn't find it as 'gripping' as some however, it did keep me turning the pages and had 2 different crimes interlinked. The main culprit didn't become clear until nearly the last page so will probably read the others in the series.

    16. Loved it! Love the good British murder mysteries. Even better with pets. So glad Holly settled in the end and Max kept her. So having gone from "no, we are not getting a dog!" they end up with two! lol

    17. I really enjoyed this book. I havent read anything by the author before but definately would again and for 80p on Kindle store it was a bargain!! There was a good storyline and grat insight into the characters. I would definately recomend this book

    18. ReviewI thoroughly enjoyed this book. I will be downloading the rest in the series. Highly recommended for all mystery lovers.

    19. I bought this and then immediately bought the second one in the series. Good who dunnit set in a sleepy village, but with a nice twist.

    20. This author had me guessing that about half the characters was the killer. So I appreciated the cleverness of the way she wove the tale.

    21. This was not quite a cozy book. Very dark and criminal mindish. The ending was very anticlimactic and a bit disappointing. Will still try the second book in the series.

    22. A British detective mystery, with interesting village characters and the kind of plot where the killer could be anyone. Kept me guessing to the end.

    23. First entry in an appealing new not-so-cozy Brit police procedural series: highly recommended for fans of Deborah Crombie and Hazel Holt.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *